All-Dutch opener for Van Gerwen in BetVictor World Matchplay


Michael van Gerwen will play Dutch rival Jeffrey de Zwaan in the BetVictor World Matchplay first round.

World number one Van Gerwen, a two-time World Matchplay champion, will headline the 32-player field for the Sky Sports-televised event from July 21-29 at Blackpool’s Winter Gardens.

The Dutchman, the 4/6 favourite with sponsor BetVictor, has drawn emerging star De Zwaan in the opening round of the World Matchplay, with the youngster having claimed victory when they met in the UK Open earlier this year.

2017 World Matchplay finalist Peter Wright will meet another of the Dutch contingent, Jelle Klaasen, while World Champion Rob Cross comes up against Mervyn King.

Number four seed Gary Anderson, the 7/1 second favourite, has drawn Stephen Bunting, while 2017 Blackpool semi-finalist Daryl Gurney takes on Steve West.

Australian ace Simon Whitlock has drawn Richard North – who lives close to the former semi-finalist in Hampshire – while number eight seed Dave Chisnall plays former World Youth Champion Keegan Brown.

Premier League finalist Michael Smith meets Jonny Clayton, who sealed his spot with a European Tour victory this year, while 2007 World Matchplay winner James Wade plays Dutchman Jermaine Wattimena.

Another 2018 European Tour winner, Max Hopp, has drawn number 11 seed Ian White, who won a Players Championship in Barnsley last week.

Welsh ace Gerwyn Price has drawn Joe Cullen, while 2010 World Matchplay runner-up Raymond van Barneveld meets 2017 Auckland Darts Masters winner Kyle Anderson.

Darren Webster, a quarter-finalist in Blackpool last year, meets Irish debutant Steve Lennon, while Belgium’s Kim Huybrechts takes on John Henderson.

2013 finalist Adrian Lewis, who picked up the 16th seeding after moving back up the rankings this year, has drawn Huddersfield’s James Wilson, with the winner set to take on Van Gerwen or De Zwaan.

The 2018 BetVictor World Matchplay sees the 32 competitors competing for the first time to win The Phil Taylor Trophy, which has been named in honour of the 16-time champion.

The BetVictor World Matchplay will be broadcast on Sky Sports from July 21-29.

BetVictor World Matchplay

Draw Bracket

(1) Michael van Gerwen v Jeffrey de Zwaan

(16) Adrian Lewis v James Wilson

(8) Dave Chisnall v Keegan Brown

(9) Michael Smith v Jonny Clayton

(5) Daryl Gurney v Steve West

(12) Gerwyn Price v Joe Cullen

(4) Gary Anderson v Stephen Bunting

(13) Raymond van Barneveld v Kyle Anderson

(2) Peter Wright v Jelle Klaasen

(15) Kim Huybrechts v John Henderson

(7) Simon Whitlock v Richard North

(10) James Wade v Jermaine Wattimena

(6) Mensur Suljovic v Steve Beaton

(11) Ian White v Max Hopp

(3) Rob Cross v Mervyn King

(14) Darren Webster v Steve Lennon


BetVictor Odds

Tournament Winner

4/6 Michael van Gerwen

7/1 Gary Anderson

8/1 Rob Cross

10/1 Peter Wright

33/1 Michael Smith, Adrian Lewis, Daryl Gurney, Mensur Suljovic, Raymond van Barneveld, James Wade

80/1 Dave Chisnall, Gerwyn Price

100/1 Ian White, Kim Huybrechts, Simon Whitlock

125/1 Joe Cullen

150/1 Stephen Bunting, Darren Webster, Jelle Klaasen, Jonny Clayton, Kyle Anderson

200/1 Jermaine Wattimena, Max Hopp, Mervyn King, Steve Lennon, Steve West

300/1 James Wilson, John Henderson, Keegan Brown, Steve Beaton, Richard North

500/1 Jeffrey de Zwaan


First Round Match Odds

1/25 Michael van Gerwen v 9/1 Jeffrey de Zwaan

2/7 Adrian Lewis v 11/4 James Wilson

1/3 Dave Chisnall v 9/4 Keegan Brown

4/11 Michael Smith v 11/5 Jonny Clayton

1/3 Daryl Gurney v 9/4 Steve West

4/5 Gerwyn Price v Evens Joe Cullen

1/5 Gary Anderson v 7/2 Stephen Bunting

2/5 Raymond van Barneveld v 2/1 Kyle Anderson

2/9 Peter Wright v 10/3 Jelle Klaasen

2/5 Kim Huybrechts v 2/1 John Henderson

1/3 Simon Whitlock v 9/4 Richard North

3/10 James Wade v 5/2 Jermaine Wattimena

1/4 Mensur Suljovic v 3/1 Steve Beaton

4/9 Ian White v 7/4 Max Hopp

2/9 Rob Cross v 10/3 Mervyn King

8/13 Darren Webster v 5/4 Steve Lennon


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here