Danish Darts Open: Second round successes for Cross and Lewis


World champions Rob Cross and Adrian Lewis both came from behind to win on a dramatic second day of action at the inaugural Danish Darts Open in Copenhagen.

Two-time World Champion Lewis edged out Michael Smith in a thrilling contest, which saw Smith squander two darts to win in a dramatic climax to their second round clash.

Premier League runner-up Smith kicked off each of the last two legs with back-to-back 180s but could only watch as Lewis took out 84 to punish his missed match darts in the deciding leg.

Cross, who won a Players Championship event last weekend to pick up his first title since becoming World Champion, stayed in hunt for another success after winning the last three legs to defeat Steve Beaton.

The world number three trailed 5-3 but managed to salvage the situation and set up a second round clash against Mervyn King, who came back from the same position to defeat German Darts Open winner Max Hopp.

World number one Michael Van Gerwen eased past Scott Taylor 6-2 to book his place in round three, where he will take on Brendan Dolan, who overturned a 4-1 deficit to defeat John Henderson.

Peter Wright enjoyed a dominant 6-1 success against Barry Lynn, while Mensur Suljovic saw off Ryan Joyce by the same the margin.

World Grand Prix champion Daryl Gurney suffered a rapid exit, losing out to Ricky Evans by six legs to three.

Joe Cullen produced a brilliant performance to see off Friday’s top performer Madars Razma. The Yorkshireman averaged 105.99 in a 6-3 success.

Welsh World Cup of Darts teammates Gerwyn Price and Jonny Clayton experienced differing fortunes as Price defeated Jelle Klaasen 6-3 but Clayton missed five match darts before losing out to Darius Labanauskas.

James Wade fended off a spirited performance from 17-year-old Rusty-Jake Rodriguez, taking the last three legs to win 6-4.

Darren Webster defied a 103 average from Spain’s Cristo Reyes to edge a thrilling contest 6-5, while Gibraltar Darts Trophy semi-finalist Steve West defeated number nine seed Ian White 6-4.

Simon Whitlock gained revenge for two defeats at the hands of Jermaine Wattimena at last weekend’s Players Championship events by defeating the Dutchman 6-3.

Stephen Bunting also claimed a 6-3 success as he won five consecutive legs to beat Peter Jacques.

The £135,000 tournament concludes on Sunday at the Brondbyhallen, with the third round taking place in the afternoon session before the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final on Sunday night.

The Danish Darts Open will be broadcast throughout the weekend for PDCTV-HD Subscribers, and through a series of bookmakers’ websites worldwide.

Saturday June 23

Second Round

Afternoon Session (1pm local time, 12pm BST)

Brendan Dolan 6-4 John Henderson

Joe Cullen 6-3 Madars Razma

Gerwyn Price 6-3 Jelle Klaasen

Darius Labanauskas 6-5 Jonny Clayton

James Wade 6-4 Rusty-Jake Rodriguez

Darren Webster 6-5 Cristo Reyes

Simon Whitlock 6-3 Jermaine Wattimena

Stephen Bunting 6-3 Peter Jacques


Evening Session (7.15pm local time, 6.15pm BST)

Mervyn King 6-5 Max Hopp

Mensur Suljovic 6-1 Ryan Joyce

Peter Wright 6-1 Barry Lynn

Adrian Lewis 6-5 Michael Smith

Rob Cross 6-5 Steve Beaton

Ricky Evans 6-3 Daryl Gurney

Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Scott Taylor

Steve West 6-4 Ian White


Sunday June 24

Afternoon Session (1pm local time, 12pm BST)Peter Wright v Gerwyn Price

Mensur Suljovic v Darren Webster

Joe Cullen v James Wade

Adrian Lewis v Stephen Bunting

Rob Cross v Mervyn King

Ricky Evans v Simon Whitlock

Darius Labanauskas v Steve West

Michael van Gerwen v Brendan Dolan


Evening Session (7.15pm local time, 6.15pm BST)







All games up to and including the quarter-finals are the best of 11 legs, with the semi-finals the best of 13 legs and the final the best of 15 legs.


Sunday’s games played in Draw Bracket order.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here